ISACA CISM is one of the most trusted security credentials in the world

Most people think of CompTIA Security+ and CEH when it comes to security certifications. There are many other security credentials that will help you stand out among the rest of your job search. ISACA’s CISM (The Certified Information Security Manager), is one of them
But first, what is ISACA?
If you aren’t sure, ISACA stands to be Information Systems Audit and Control Association. This international professional association focuses on IT Governance. In 1967, the United States created the organization. A group of people working on computer systems auditing began to be more critical of their organizations’ operations in that year. They recognized the need for a central source of information and guidance in this field. The association established an education foundation in 1976 to conduct large-scale research to increase knowledge and value in the areas of governance and control of information tech. In 1994, the association was renamed the Information Systems Audit and Control Association.
ISACA is specifically designed for IT professionals who are interested in the highest standards of quality in audit, control, and security of information systems. The CISM certificate holders have in-depth knowledge in security risk management, program management, governance, incident management and response.
The CISM Credential and Certification Process
ISACA’s flagship credential is the Certified Information Security Manager (CISM). This certification is for IT professionals who are responsible for managing, developing, and supervising enterprise-level information security systems. The CISM credential was first introduced to security professionals in 2003. It has remained highly sought after ever since.
CISM certification is a new standard in IT security, created with security professionals in mind. Candidates must agree to the ISACA Code of Professional Ethics and pass a difficult certification exam in order to earn this credential. Candidates must also have at least five years of security experience and comply with the Continuing Education Policy. They must also submit a written application. You can substitute certain combinations of education and experience to meet the experience requirement. Please visit ISACA website for more information.
Prerequisites for CISM Certification You must meet the following requirements to obtain the CISM credential:
Pass the CISM exam.
Accept the ISACA Code of Professional Ethics.
Minimum of five years’ experience in information security, including three years in information security management in at least three of the job analysis areas. Experience must be verified and must have been obtained within the last 10 years or five years following the exam. This requirement can be modified depending on current credentials.
Submit an application to CISM certification (processing fees are $50). The credential must be obtained within five year of passing the exam.
Accept the CISM Continuing Education Policy.
Exam Cost for CISM
ISACA members who register early will pay $440; non-members will pay $625. Non-members pay $675 and members $490 respectively. The CISM credential lasts for three years. Credential holders must pay an annual fee of $45 (ISACA member) or $85 (nonmember). To maintain their credential, credential holders must also earn at least 120 continuing professional education credits during the three-year period. Each year, at least 20 CPEs are required.
ISACA Certification Program
ISACA offers many other certifications in addition to the CISM.